Update On Links

March 18, 2013 - I'm now using various file sites with varying success. With over 200 albums listed here, obviously I cannot upload everything at once. So if you're dying to hear something, please post a comment on that particular post and I will move it up in the priority queue. Enjoy!

Any posts taken down as a result of the sniveling coward will be re-upped. Check the link below for where to find them in the event that this site is unable to repost them. Don't forget to bookmark http://whereismrvolstead.blogspot.com/ in the event that the internet terrorists shut this page down.

24 November 2008

Let's Have A Jubilee

This is a nice collection of Ivie Anderson's work, and she is considered the best of Duke Ellington's vocalists. +

1.: It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
2.: I've Got The World On A String
3.: Troubled Waters
4.: My Old Flame
5.: Let's Have A Jubilee
6.: Cotton
7.: Truckin'
8.: Isn't Love The Strangest Thing
9.: Oh Babe Maybe Someday
10.: Shoe Shine Boy
11.: It Was A Sad Night In Harlem
12.: I've Got To Be A Rug Cutter
13.: There's A Lull In My Life
14.: All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
15.: Alabamy Home
16.: I'm Checkin Out Goo'm Bye
17.: Killin' Myself
18.: Me And You
19.: Chocolate Shake
20.: I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
21.: Rocks In My Bed
22.: Hayfoot Strawfoot


spartak said...

You have a good blog and music in your blog is really great.

Thank you.

Sorry, but where is the password for beautifull Ivie?

spartak said...

oops! sorry again, i found it.

zeppo1 said...

The included link goes to RapidShare, and RapidShare reports an error:(

Chester Proudfoot said...

The link has been updated. Fyi, all Rapidshare links are dead so if you find another that you want, just comment on that particular post and I'll reload it.

Anonymous said...

Any chance of uploading this again (currently megaupload)? Thanks anyway, great blog.

Chester Proudfoot said...

Ready to enjoy again.

Anonymous said...

Wow! Thanks very much.

I notice that this release is the same as the Ivie Anderson 1932-42 CD in humungous The Ultimate Jazz Archive boxset (set 39, CD 1), except for some odd reason the wonderful 'Jump For Joy' has been left out. Fabulous stuff anyway.

For those interested Bill Crow in 'From Birdland To Broadway' gives a lovely description of Ivie performing at a Seattle club after she'd left Ellington which is accessible on google books: http://books.google.ie/books?id=0YPjq2EoBREC&lpg=PP1&pg=PA24#v=onepage&q&f=false