Update On Links

March 18, 2013 - I'm now using various file sites with varying success. With over 200 albums listed here, obviously I cannot upload everything at once. So if you're dying to hear something, please post a comment on that particular post and I will move it up in the priority queue. Enjoy!

Any posts taken down as a result of the sniveling coward will be re-upped. Check the link below for where to find them in the event that this site is unable to repost them. Don't forget to bookmark http://whereismrvolstead.blogspot.com/ in the event that the internet terrorists shut this page down.

27 November 2011

When The Day Is Done

It's never the wrong time of year to share some Django Reinhardt. Originally I had intended to begin with the 1935 set but grabbed the wrong one. Guess I'll have to get to that one later. Le Quintette du Hot Club de France was formed in 1934 by Reinhardt and Stéphane Grapelli, with a revolving lineup that originally included Django's brother Joseph (rhythm guitar), Louis Vola (bass), and Roger Chaput (rhythm guitar). The group recorded and toured regularly  1939 when the outbreak of WWII interrupted life. The Quintette was touring in England, where Grapelli chose to remain, while Reinhardt returned to France where he figured he'd be better off (not speaking any English). After the war they regrouped until into 1948. The sound quality of some of these transfers leaves a bit to be desired at times, but the music is incomparable. My favorites here are Ain't Misbehavin', Pennies From Heaven, and The Sheik of Araby. But really there's not a bad recording in the lot. Included are scans. Enjoy. +


01. Django Reinhardt. Exactly Like You
02. Django Reinhardt. Charleston
03. Django Reinhardt. You're Driving Me Crazy
04. Django Reinhardt. Tears
05. Django Reinhardt. Solitude
06. Django Reinhardt. Hot Lips
07. Django Reinhardt. Ain't Misbehavin'
08. Django Reinhardt. Rose Room
09. Django Reinhardt. Body And Soul (04-22-37)
10. Django Reinhardt. When The Day Is Done (04-22-37)
11. Django Reinhardt. Runnin' Wild
12. Django Reinhardt. Chicago
13. Django Reinhardt. Leibestraum No 3 (04-26-37)
14. Django Reinhardt. Miss Annabelle Lee
15. Django Reinhardt. A Little Love, A Little Kiss (04-26-37)
16. Django Reinhardt. Mystery Pacific (04-26-37)
17. Django Reinhardt. In A Sentimental Mood
18. Django Reinhardt. The Sheik Of Araby
19. Django Reinhardt. Improvisation (04-27-37)
20. Django Reinhardt. Parfum (04-27-37)
21. Django Reinhardt. Pennies From Heaven
22. Django Reinhardt. Tiger Rag (07-07-37)

19 November 2011

That's How It Goes

At last, here is the final cd of the complete Tommy Dorsey and Frank Sinatra box set. This one contains live performances "on the air" from 1940-1942. Connie Haines shows up for a couple lines each on You're Part Of My Heart, You Got The Best of Me, That's How It Goes, When Sleepy Stars Begin To Fall, and One Red Rose. Each time she comes in for the second chorus backed by the Pied Pipers, and does not duet with Sinatra at all. Sinatra is in excellent form, and there is some scripted banter here and there as well as his 'farewell' from the band. Enjoy. +


01. Theme- I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
02. Who
03. I Hear A Rhapsody
04. I'll Never Smile Again
05. Half-Way Down The Street
06. Some Of Your Sweetness (Got Into My Heart)
07. Once In A While
08. A Little In Love
09. It Came To Me
10. Only Forever
11. Marie
12. Yearning
13. How Am I To Know
14. You're Part Of My Heart
15. Announcements
16. You're Stepping On My Toes
17. You Got The Best Of Me
18. That's How It Goes
19. When Daylight Dawns
20. When Sleepy Stars Begin To Fall
21. Goodbye Lover, Goodbye
22. One Red Rose
23. The Things I Love
24. In The Blue Of Evening
25. Just As Though You Were Here
26. Frank Sinatra's Farewell To The Tommy Dorsey Orchestra
27. The Song Is You